I Pledge, I Swear

9.15.09 update: ** Note below, Barry Lynn says the Pledge of Allegiance presents a “constitutional problem.”

The Old Pledge

I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America, and to the Republic for which it stands, one nation, under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.

_________

THE NEW PLEDGE

I pledge to smile more.  I pledge to reduce my use of plastic. I pledge to not give people the finger when I’m driving.  I pledge to help our planet. I pledge to be more green.  I pledge to no longer use plastic bags at the grocery store.  I pledge to turn the lights off.  I pledge to flush only after a deuce, never a single.  I pledge to be of service to Barack Obama.  I pledge to be the change.  I pledge to be a servant to our president.

Source of the new pledge: Oprah and Hollywood

_______

At the end of the video they ask:  “What’s your pledge?”   My answer:  “I’ll go with the old pledge thanks.”

_______

RED SKELTON’S PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

_______

**  “The Pledge of Allegiance creates a constitutional problem. You have to tell students they can opt out,” the Rev. Barry Lynn, executive director of Americans United for Separation of Church and State, told FOX News. link to full story

THE PRESIDENTIAL OATH OF OFFICE:    Article II, Sec. 1, Cl. 8 – “I do solemnly swear that I will faithfully execute the Office of President of the United States, and will to the best of my ability, preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the United States.”

________

Are you preserving, protecting and defending the Constitution Mr. Obama?

Leave a Reply

